Unnecessary Biographical Data

Dave Black often notes that you should blog regularly, even if nobody reads it.

This summer is an interesting time for me. I am about to start a part time teaching schedule at work and a full time load majoring in mechanical engineering. This is a major change in course from my desire to earn a doctoral degree in New Testament. But alas, I have no desire to have student debt upon graduating. On top of that, my seminary degree, though it taught me a great deal (mostly Greek and Hebrew mattered), was treated with a dismissive attitude when I described my courses to a professor at that school which shall remain unnamed. Getting this degree will also help me to test my theory that if you can learn Greek and Hebrew, math and science should be easy.

Onward to why the summer is interesting. My schedule next semester includes:

  1. Calculus 3,
  2. Physics
  3. Programming for Engineers (I have credits that count for this, but none of the programming skills I learned in high school and freshman year seem to have stuck)
  4. Fundamentals of Engineering

But then I also teach these classes:

  1. Freshman Bible
  2. Sophomore Bible
  3. Junior Bible
  4. Senior Bible
  5. Chapel
  6. Senior Thesis

What I realized when studying, writing curriculum maps and lectures, and trying to get my P’s and Q’s in order is that for the first time in my life I think I may not be able keep up with all of it in my head. I’ve always bought planners and grown weary of using them because its easier to just remember what’s on my plate rather than memorizing it and writing it. So my wife and I spent yesterday writing things down, making a notebook of important websites, passwords, etc (I have a work email, two student emails, a second work email account because the boss needed us to have access to an online calender that our servers didn’t support, the mail address I’ve had for years, and blah, blah, blah).  I have student accounts at two schools, black board at two schools, blackbaud where I teach, etc.

Previously, the most copiously annotated aspects of my life were my workouts, my monthly hand written budget (I always liked the math to be written down to avoid self-deception), sermon notes, and research papers. I never wrote schedules, rarely wrote to-do lists, memorized what I needed prior to shopping, tried memorizing all routes for road trips, and as a math teacher learned to do all of high school level math except for tedious long division in my head. Those days are just over. Descartes was clear about the importance of taking copious notes in problem solving. I suppose the next two years or so of my life are one extended problem solving session.

As I sit here, I gaze at a sticky note above my computer monitor reminding me to pay a bill that I know I’ll remember the moment it comes around, but, there it sits just in case.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

